Event Details

Loading Events

A Literary Affair

Fri Jul 29 - 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm EDT

20 - 56

Buy Tickets

Edward Johnson Building, Queens Park, Toronto, ON, Canada

Storytelling comes to the forefront in a concert of works inspired by literature, including Goethe’s Faust and the plays of William Shakespeare. Anishinaabe composer Barbara Assiginaak contributes stunning solo piano music inspired by the traditional stories of her childhood, and Franz Hassenhörl takes a chamber music approach to Strauss’ famous Till Eulenspiegel tone poem.

Scott St. John, violin
Jonathan Crow, violin
Andrew Wan, violin
Barry Shiffman, violin
Rémi Pelletier, viola
Sharon Wei, viola
Rachel Mercer, cello
Emmanuelle Beaulieu Bergeron, cello
Miles Jaques, clarinet
Michael Chiarello, bass
Neil Deland, horn
Darren Hicks, bassoon
Philip Chiu, piano

Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Incidental music from Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing, Op. 11

Barbara Assiginaak: Mnidoonskaa [An Abundance of Insects]
                  I. Ntam Ginjigan [Book One]
                  II. Eko-niizhing Ginjigan [Book Two]

Richard Strauss, arr. Franz Hasenöhrl: Till Eulenspiegel einmal Anders! 

Felix Mendelssohn: String Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20